COSAM professor and students receive Algernon Sydney Sullivan Prize

Auburn, Ala. (EETV) – The winners of the prestigious Algernon Sydney Sullivan Award for the year 2021 have been chosen. Each year, Auburn presents the honor of this award to a student; this year, an exemplary faculty member was also recognized.

Political science professor Steven Brown and College of Science and Mathematics students William Illiano and Meredith Sylvia accepted praise for receiving this award, which showcases nobility of character and respectable qualities. Professor Brown is the Morris Savage Chair in the Department of Political Science, while Illiano is majoring in Biomedical Sciences and Sylvia is majoring in Organism Biology.

Both Illiano and Sylvia are high achievers with a lot going on. Sylvia is a member of the Gymnastics Team and is on the 2018-20 Honor Roll, and has served as a research volunteer in Belize where she has investigated marine wildlife. Illiano was president of Campus Kitchens and is a saxophone musician in the Auburn Marching Band and in the Saxophone Jazz Band.

In addition, the recipient of the W. James Samford Jr. ’72 Memorial Fellowship was chosen to be Lauryn Malone. This scholarship recognizes a graduate of each school or college who has completed at least three semesters at Auburn with a minimum cumulative grade point average of 3.40 and possesses outstanding qualities not only as a student but as an individual.

Malone is a major in Biomedical and Pre-Pharmacy Sciences and plans to attend Harrison School of Pharmacy to pursue a Doctor of Pharmacy degree upon graduation.

In addition to the W. James Samford Jr. Foundation Award, the winners of the President’s Award were announced as follows:

Micah Owen Bartlett, College of Agriculture

Kyra Wesche, College of Architecture, Design and Construction

Matthew Emery Russell, Raymond J. Harbert College of Management

Shelby Grace Bramblett, College of Education

Lindsey Elaine Wagoner, Samuel Ginn College of Engineering

Robert James Sitze, School of Forestry and Wildlife Sciences

Sumaiya Islam, Graduate School

Shannon Nicole Lucky, College of Humanities

Megan Richele Ondrizek, College of Liberal Arts

Jemesia Andrea Calloway, School of Nursing

Madeline Lynne Sheffield, Harrison School of Pharmacy

Victoria Susan Jiminez, College of Science and Mathematics

Mercedes Blythe Muldoon, College of Veterinary Medicine

About Dora Kohler

Check Also

VIDEOS: PagerDuty revolutionizes operations with new features unveiled at PagerDuty Summit 2022

In an always-on world, ensuring you receive the right notifications at the right time ensures …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.